End of Year Report.

Ok, so 2009 is just about over. I won’t have chance to have another ride before 2010 is ushered in.

What has been achieved –

Competed in my first MTB race. I finished last, but one, after falling off. So better than expected as I thought i’d finish last or not even manage a lap.

I’ve managed a couple of good months, but getting that work/family/ride balance is bloody difficult.

Bike wise, at the start of the year it was a bog standard Orange G2, but a brush with a bush on the HTN 1.5 Preview ride resulted in new LX shifters and an SLX rear mech.

I’ve tried various tyres in an attempt to get that balance between grip in the mud/dry sorted and I think i’ve managed that with some 2″ Michelin Country Trail Folds (they’re not bad in the snow/ice too!)

A hasty decent down Rooley Moor Road to Lane Head with the lock-out activated saw the end of my Rockshox Dart 2 forks, to be honest it’s no real loss as they’re one of the first components that should be replaced on any bike equipped with them. In their place i’ve fitted a set of Marzocchi Bomber MX Comp Air forks, they’ve slightly more travel at 105mm, but they do actually use all of it. I’ve just about got used to the squishing when they compress.

The only other part that has been replaced has been the seatpost for an FSA CarbonPro post, which is actually thin alloy with a thick carbon layer over the top. It does feel more comfortable than the Orange post, and I feel better that it does have some substance to it as with my weight it would be the first thing to snap.

I’ve also finally managed to wear out a set of brake pads. It’s taken 2 years, but I do hope that the next set last a fraction of that.

I started the year off with a set of 200 lumen XR-E cree lights that i’d bought of eBay they offer a fairly good throw and spread, but as I improve has increased and they don’t give quite the warning that i’d like. I got a set of the DealExtreme Bastid lights, that promise 900 lumens for £50. They lasted 3 rides before they packed in.. There’s a moral there somewhere. For Christmas I got a pair of RSP Asteri lamps, which allegedly provide 400 lumens of light, more than enough for me as I’ll have my old light helmet mounted to add a little.

Once i’ve been out at the start of 2010 i’ll give an update of how they perform.

I’ve managed about 325 miles this year, which is shockingly bad. Next year I really hope to do at least 100 per mont, with some swimming and running thrown in for good measure.

Weight loss, i’ve probably still lost around 7lbs since the start of the year, but the last couple of weeks have been terrible and i’ve put on 6lbs (chocolates and christmas snacks and hardly any riding!)

One thought on “End of Year Report.

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss » Blog Archive » End of Year Report.

Leave a Reply

