Defeated

I had the best intentions today to attempt a long ride (for me) . The plan was to get home at and go straight out for a ride up  to the top of Rooley Moor and go past Ding quarry, down to Edenfield and back via Edenfield Road, Ashworth Road and a cut through the Naden Valley.

What happened was that I had to pick my son up from where my wife was having her gym class, bring him home and then wait for my wife to get home and  I had 70 minutes ride time remaining.

So, off I went.  I think the recent rides had lulled me into a false sense of security as the climb totally destroyed me tonight. I only stopped twice, but there was no energy in my legs for the climb. I got to the top in 30 minutes from my house and found that conditions weren’t great. It was a little too windy for my liking, so I turned the bike round and headed back down the hill and across to Greenbooth Res.

I did find that I am managing to climb consistently well on asphalt surfaces, I just need to convert that to consistent climbs on the gravel. Again, tonight the surface was really claggy and it was like cycling through treacle.

Distance 6.02 miles

Duration 52 minutes

Average 6.89mph

Max 34.7 mph

Overall disappointed, but this ride has moved me close to last years February mileage, so I’m still on track for a good month.

5 thoughts on “Defeated

  1. Thank you. I think perhaps it is down to the increased mileage that i’ve been doing. Perhaps I need a longer rest peroid between rides. I’d have thought 2 days would be ok. Last night was the first ride in 4 days, so I thought i’d do better.

    Oh, how I long for the days when I can ride in T-shirts and Shorts and not 3 layers, and a covered face!!

    A bit of daylight would be nice too.. But that’ll be here soon.

  2. 2 days receovery should do it, what are you eating & drinking when you get home? We do apple crumble smoothies (yum).

    I wonder if you were cycling through the same treacle that was on the canal towpath last Tuesday?

    As has been said: no defeat, just a bloke who’s still going!

Leave a Reply

