Bollocks

I planned a nice ride for tonight to recce the weekend ride to Watergrove. I set off and no matter how hard I tried I couldnt get my feet to engage with the pedals. Not a problem as they’re bigger thanthe old shimanos and acted like mini platforms.

No issues with chain slip either, so really pleased with that. The drop down from Prickshaw was tricky as I found the narrow tyres i’m running at the moment are roughly the same width as the gaps between the cobbles. And… My brake pads wore down to pretty much metal to metal on the front.. OK, i’ve got the rear brake that’ll be ok.

I continued and climbed out of Healey Dell to Whitworth and then climbed up Ending Rake without any issues at all. Middle ring all the way, before turning off back towards Whitworth.

Then, clunk.. No drive.

Hmmm, snapped chain?

No. Rear Mech hanger sheared off.

I was pedalling along the flat, at a decent rate, no chain slip, but a fair amount of effort in the pedalling department.

Unfortunately the rear mech managed to spin round and has bent the cage, but it’s repairable I think.

The KMC chain is going in the bin and i’m going to stick with SRAM, and get a new rear cassette too. Just in case.

Of course, I then had to free wheel the bike home, including a run up to the top of Prickshaw Lane whilst pushing the bike.

50 minutes
4.75 miles
5.7mph avg

G U T T E D

12 thoughts on “Bollocks

  1. yup, its definately that kind of week, on my new pedals the left one wont engage, on my first and only ride out this week i managed 7 miles before walking home in road shoes. thats what makes it fun 🙂 nobody ever expects the spanish inquisition.

    • Ah but can you tell me the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?

      Not the best of rides but at least I wasn’t too far from home

  2. Um, that ain’t supposed to happen! I have to confess to having done that on my roadie though 😯

    Sounds like it’d have been a great ride too if things hadn’t gone pear shaped.

Leave a Reply

