Mondays ride

I’ve not managed to get out much recently, two rides this month. Most of the gremlins with the transmission seem to have been ironed out – only the odd slip here and there but I can live with that.

Last nights ride was the first chance I had to test out my new Helmet cam AND it was the first ride of the year in SHORTS!!

It’s very dinky, slightly smaller than my thumb and comes with a number of mounting brackets. For last nights test I stuffed it into the central cooling vent in my helmet.  (only problem was it was pointing to far forward as the forthcoming video clip shows)

I decided to ride straight up RMR from the cattle grid at Lane Head rather than doing the slightly longer detour to avoid the first set of cobbles.

It was hard work last night, but I kept on climbing, to my surprise I was overtaken by an Audi A3 and a young couple asked if this was the road to Bacup. Tomtom strikes again? I told them they’d break their car if they attempted it. ITS A BRIDLEWAY! A big sign at the bottom of the road says NO MOTORISED VEHICLES. Idiot.

Anyway, I carried on. The climb took about 18 minutes and was a hard slog. I stopped to have  a look back over manchester and talked to a helmet cam that had stopped recording by that point (memory full)

I decided to pop over to Cragg Quarry and see the great work that has been done there. I rode some of it but bottled the drops, don’t know why as I’ve done descents like that recently without any problems. I’ve also done descents that have tried to rip me to shreds, so perhaps i’m psychologically damaged 😀

Cut that short as it was starting to get dark and rode back home, got some good pace too.  Only issue on the way back was nearly running into some concrete fence posts that had been dumped in a puddle next to the track.

Oh, and my DX P7 Lamp worked a treat too, really happy with it now it recharges!

8 miles

1hr 13 mins

Max 29mph

Avg 6.6mph

Apologies for the puffing and grunting in the video….

9 thoughts on “Mondays ride

  1. That looks like a lovely climb that – shame about the cobbles otherwise I’d come over on the roadie and had a climb.

    As for camera, I use a 2gb card and can get about 1hr 45 minutes of footage if the battery lasts.

    • It’s set on 720×480 resolution, i’ll see if I can set it at the lower resolution for longer clips (i’ve got an 8mb card in my phone which I may swap over)

  2. I’ve had roughly 2 hours out of mine before now with the bigger card. Can’t remember what Gb thingy it though. The only trouble is the internal microphone is too good, you just get a soundtrack of a middle aged asthmatic desperatly fighting for breath! Joby is right though, the battery life is an issue especially in cold weather.

  3. Just need to confirm that Rooley Moor Road is a Byway and is actually open to motorised vehicles.
    It is important though that the vehicles DO NOT leave the road otherwise they are committing an offence and liable to have their vehicles impounded (sevres them right).
    Any warning signs advising it is illegal to use the road by motorised vehicles are themselves illegal!

    However, the road is certainly not suitable for anything other than 4×4’s and motorcycles.

    • The sign at the bottom of the climb (where it becomes heavily rutted gravel) is from Rochdale Council/GMP so i’m not sure where the classification stands..

      I was in two minds to let them carry on as they’d have broken their car well and truly on the descent to Stacksteads…

      • Ah, THAT sign!
        The sign is actually warning users that they must not use the road in/on uninsured vehicles and effectively that users must not leave the road.
        The wording is certainly open to misinterpretation – which may have been intentional as it could put some people off from proceeding.
        I sympathise with your thoughts about letting the Audi proceed…blindly following satnav is a very dangerous thing!

  4. When I was 14 I could do tht on my BMX, but I’m fairly sure it would kill me now.
    Driving up there may be legal, but it’s certainly not adviseable. Perhaps RMBC signed it to avoid potential law actions but owners of broken cars. Which, to be honest, seems totally sensible.

Leave a Reply

